Home > New Series posts, Uncategorized > Nearly the last of the new: Yurushiki, Valvrave, Hentai Neko

Nearly the last of the new: Yurushiki, Valvrave, Hentai Neko

yurushiki1-1

Sometimes I’ll visit a bookstore magazine stand here in Japan and look over the dozens of manga magazines, sometimes buying one and taking it home where I’d be reminded just how little of the language I actually know. But I’ve grown a little familiar with the series just from the images, so when I saw the ads for the Yuyushiki anime I thought “Oh, THOSE girls,” and found myself rooting for the series, even though I couldn’t read what they were saying. As it turns out, I might as well have not bothered. Episode one did nothing for me at all. It was simply more cute girls doing cute things, and I tend to LIKE this genre. Of the three girls we have one blithering idiot (Yuzuko), one half-dreamy, half-blithering idiot (Yukari), and the straight man (Yui). The humor got a little better when they had a single theme to riff on, and they got some chuckles out of me when a reaction was well-timed, but those were mostly the characters thinking an unfunny joke was unfunny. I’m going to watch a couple more episodes, but I don’t have high hopes.

valvrave1-1

Valvrave the Liberator, in spite of the double-shock ending, looks pretty routine. Haruka’s your normal, nice high school lad in a nice, neutral country called JIOR that has a thing for putting their armored secret-weapon mecha labs underneath places like high schools like Haruka’s. We get a slow infiltration of the school by smug bishies and thugs while Haruka gets told he never fights hard enough for what he wants, which is the girl who keeps telling him that. To emphasize the point, he’s roughed up and lectured by one of the smug bishies. I thought to myself, “The moment Haruka tries to confess to the girl there will be a big explosion and the invasion will begin.” Nailed it! Having the girl die in the attack wasn’t a big surprise; they needed something to push Haruka into a murderous rage and climb into the mecha that had appeared out of the ground and kick ass. As for the ending bit, it felt like a gimmick. The show looks good, including the mecha and the fighting scenes, so I’ll leave this one to fans of that genre.

After the transformation.

After the transformation.

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko … well, I’ll stick with this for a couple episodes, but I don’t have high hopes. Youta’s your average high school perverted boy who somehow manages to PR his way out of every desperate situation, though I can’t frankly see how he can consider this a problem. He goes up to pray to a stone cat, meets a girl named Tsukiko who has problems of her own, and their wishes are granted. Laugh as Youta can’t keep his lustful thoughts to himself and soon becomes known as the “Pervert Prince!” Or don’t laugh. Meanwhile Tsukiko’s become monotone-girl, and heiress Azusa has inherited Youta’s PR, which means she acts more or less exactly the same as before. This episode completely confused me. Maybe I’ll figure it out next week …

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

