Space Dandy 6, SAO and Hanayamata 7

I’m falling behind. Sorry …

I was hoping someone would mention that ...
I was hoping someone would mention that …

Sometimes when I watch Space Dandy I think I’m missing out on the joke. I felt that way through much of episode 6 as I wondered why they had a laugh track going–was this a commentary on modern media, or a reference to another ironic use of that most hated of sitcom devices from my childhood and adolescence? And, for chrissake, when would it stop?! I didn’t find the story itself any clearer. I appreciated the idea of a cloud computing metaphor going on (If that’s what it was. I have no idea), and it was nice to see Scarlet and Honey doing things apart from working. But it bounced from one plot bit to the next with nothing much holding it together. Well, it wasn’t the worst SD episode; I enjoyed watching and trying to figure out what would happen next, and be wrong. I just didn’t understand the point of it all. Maybe I AM too old for this.

In spite of this confrontation, no battle this week.
In spite of this confrontation, no battle this week.

Sword Art Online 2 7 is an in-between episode where both Kirito and Sinon gear up for the big battle that evening. Kirito has the most to get through, and it’s not the idea that Death Gun is maybe the guy who’s been killing people. His failure to notify the people who put him up to this is surprising; has he forgotten his mission? He’s more worried now about the guilt he feels for remembering or not remembering the names of the people (I forget which) that he killed. Maybe it hasn’t occurred to him that taking care of Death Gun might be a good way to atone, at least in part. Meanwhile Sinon gears up for the match by acting tsundere over Kirito, only to have Spiegel confess to her when she’s getting her game face on, showing a clueless lack of timing on his part, proof that he understands less about her than he thinks, or maybe he realizes that there’s more to life than therapy through games.

The girls being sorry and bawling their eyes out moment.
The girls being sorry and bawling their eyes out moment.

Hanayamata 7 clears the way for Yaya to join the yosakoi club full-time. To do this smoothly they had to invent some drama that mostly fell flat. I can understand Yaya’s intense disappointment over her band breaking up and ruining her ambitions, and how she might jealously lash out at the yosakoi club and thus hurt her friends. But it was too routine and led to too many tears–I expected some, but I thought Hana, giving the tearful speeches she gave, felt like an interloper. Naru was the one who should have given all of them. Well, Naru does get her main point across: Yaya’s been there for her for most of her life, it’s time to give some of that love back. And I liked how they lured Yaya to the roof in the first place–by shouting insults at her. Elsewhere, as I said, it was predictable, though I enjoyed the teacher trying to turn them into cosplayers.

2 thoughts on “Space Dandy 6, SAO and Hanayamata 7

  1. I kind of agree with you that the drama was a little over-the-top in Hanayamata, but I thought it was important for Hana to be part of the reconciliation since Yaya already had so much tension with her. If it were just a make-up between her and Naru it’d feel like there was still something unsaid between her and Hana. Especially since her real reason for being angry turned out to be jealousy.

    • I didn’t mind Hana being there. She should have been, even if nothing more as a witness, but I thought the scene had Naru saying something tearful, then Hana saying something tearful–and unnecessary. Yaya and Hana coming to some sort of terms would be fine, but with the long history between Naru and Yaya, this wasn’t the place for it.

Leave a Reply

